About the Coalition

Highway 63 and Highway 881

As the busiest routes in and out of the oil sands, Highway 63 and Highway 881 have seen hundreds of vehicle-related injuries and dozens of fatalities in recent years.

These tragedies point to the need for change—and twinning these highways is only part of the solution. The other part is changing how we drive. That’s where the Coalition for a Safer 63 & 881 comes in. We aim to help drivers identify their dangerous driving habits and offer them safe alternatives.

Our members range from industry groups and regional municipalities to safety organizations and the media. We come from different backgrounds, but we all share one important goal—to make Highway 63 and 881 safer for our families, friends, employees and everyone else who travels them every day.


Visibly driving change to save lives, with engagement of all stakeholders.


As a trusted leader and proponent of Vision Zero, we are a catalyst for improving driving behaviours in our communities, ensuring everyone arrives safely.

Executive Director

Meet Debbie Hammond, our Coalition Executive Director. Formerly representing AMA on our Board, Debbie was so impressed by the Coalition that she decided to join the group permanently. Stationed in Calgary, Debbie is working closely with all our sponsors, stakeholders, our agency DDB Canada, and our committee members to advocate, educate and create awareness for safe journey management. Her guidance and support continuously help our volunteer organization achieve our goals.

e: [email protected]


Our Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from our Gold Sponsors. They are the organizations committed to raising awareness of dangerous driving habits and to changing those behaviours. It is their commitment to the Coalition that is making Highway 63 and Highway 881 safer.

  • Ben Way – ConocoPhillips, Chairman
  • Paul Massel – CEDA, Vice-Chairman
  • Graham Ure – Suncor, Director
  • Karen Karpa – Cenovus, Director
  • Darby Allen – Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo, Director
  • Kevin Stark – Devon, Director
  • Murray Kellington – Syncrude, Director
  • Melanie Boxall – Alberta Construction Safety Association, Director
  • Ron Wilson – AMA, Director